Vermont State Workforce Development Board Final Meeting Minutes

December 8, 2016

I. Call to order

Chair Frank Cioffi called to order the regular meeting of the Vermont State Workforce Development Board at 1:11 pm on December 8, 2016 at the Capitol Plaza Hotel & Conference Center, 100 State St, Montpelier, VT 05601-0488.

II. Roll call

The following members of the Board participated:

Members in person:

Frank Cioffi, Chair

Jen Kimmich, Vice Chair

Connie Warren, designee of Don George

Rep. Kathleen Keenan

Brian Kerns

Geoff Glaspie

Judy Geiger

Rep. Tristan Toleno

Dennis Labounty

Tom Longstreth

Joyce Judy

Tricia Coates, designee of Jeb Spaulding

Grant Spates

Amanda Beraldi

Mayor Chris Louras

Nate Beach

Erica Campbell, designee of Ellen Kahler

Mike Lane

Gerry Ghazi

Dean Stearns

David Wheel

Scott Johnstone

Dick Marron

Paul Biebel

Greg Maguire

Rebecca Holcombe (except for Executive Session and Board vote portions)

Eileen Illuzzi

Diane Dalmasse (except for Executive Session and Board vote portions

Joan Goldstein (except for Executive Session and Board vote portions)

Lisa Menard (except for Executive Session and Board vote portions)

Rose Lucenti (except for Executive Session and Board vote portions)

Annie Noonan (except for Executive Session and Board vote portions)

Pixie Loomis

Joyce Judy.

Members participating by phone:

Jostein Solheim

Lynn Vera

Kiersten Bourgeois

Janette Bombardier

Lucy Leriche (except for Executive Session and Board vote portions)

Chris Loso

Steve Marsh

Tom Torti

Melissa Hersh

Jeff Wimette

Andy Pallito (except for Executive Session and Board vote portions)

a.) The following staff from the Vermont Department of Labor were present:
Annie Noonan, Commissioner (also Board member) except as noted above; Maureen
Tivnan, Deputy Commissioner, except as noted above; Rose Lucenti, Director of VDOL
Workforce Development (also Board member) except as noted above; Suzanne Wagner,
Regional Manager, except for the Board vote portion of the open meeting; Danielle
Kane, Regional Manager, except for the Board vote portion of the open meeting; Mat
Barewicz, Economic & Labor Market Information Chief, except for the Board vote
portion of the open meeting; Jason Boss, VDOL staff; Michele Kupersmith, SWDB Staff
Liaison to the SWDB and Workforce Education and Training Coordinator

b) Others in the room or on the phone:

Linda Tarver, USDOL (on the phone); Michelle Tarryk; Kathy Lavoie; Seth Bowden (facilitator); Dave Biebel; Rep. Jean O'Sullivan; Ian Davis; Pam Mackenzie; Lisa Ventriss; Heather Bouchey, except for the Board vote portion of the meeting

III. New business

- a) The meeting was called consider the Operating Committee's recommendation to the full SWDB to select the Vermont Department of Labor as the successful vendor for the One-Stop Operator contract, and to discuss SWDB priorities and initiatives.
- b) Minutes: Motion to accept the minutes of the September 27, 2016 SWDB meeting with the addition of Jen Kimmich as member present was made by Pixie Loomis and seconded by Tom Longstreth. The motion was voted on and approved unanimously.
- c) One-Stop Operator contract: Motion to enter into Executive Session pursuant to 1 VSA § 313 was made by Eileen Illuzzi and seconded by Gerry Ghazi, as the discussion would involve confidential information and premature general public knowledge that would clearly place the public body or person involved at substantial disadvantage. Chairman Frank Cioffi called the vote. Yes: unanimous; No: none.
- d) Chairman Frank Cioffi announced that he had been given a list of individual Board members who would be recusing themselves from all matters involving the selection of the One-Stop Operator, and that those individuals, plus all others who were not SWDB members, would exit the room. While those names were not announced, they included: Diane Dalmasse; Joan Goldstein; Lisa Menard; Joan Goldstein; Lucy Leriche; Andy Pallito; Annie Noonan; Rose Lucenti; and Rebecca Holcombe. These individuals participated in the meeting only at the very beginning and through the vote on the minutes, and did not return until after the full Board voted on the One-Stop Operator selection.
- e) The Board went into Executive Session; the Board came out of Executive Session.
- f) Motion to award the One-Stop Operator contract to the Vermont Department of Labor was made by Eileen Illuzzi and seconded by Dennis Labounty. The motion was voted on and approved unanimously.
- g) All those who had been conflicted out of the One-Stop Operator vote were invited to return to the meeting.
- h) Motion to endorse the Vermont Business Roundtable Talent Pipeline Management initiative was made by Greg Maguire and seconded by Annie Noonan. The motion was voted on and approved unanimously.
- i) Seth Bowden of the Greater Burlington Industrial Corporation (GBIC) led the Board through a discussion of the list of high level priorities generated at the September 27, 2016 SWDB meeting. After an engaged discussion, the decision was made for staff to collect the ideas presented at this meeting, and the Chair and the Operating Committee would generate a plan for how to advance the process to the next step. For the full A/V recording of the meeting:
 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jv129jKv9lo&list=PLYV6NGVqglqhqqNxFDHGP9DJigX76lglxj

j)	The meeting was adjourned at 3:14 pm
	Respectfully submitted: Michele Kupersmith